FAQ ÉTUDIER À LONDRES

L’Angleterre est considérée comme la terre mère de la langue anglaise, elle regroupe plus d’étudiants internationaux que n’importe quelle autre ville du monde. Londres est une ville fantastique pour étudier. Elle est très accueillante pour les étudiants qui ne s’ennuient jamais, il se passe toujours quelque chose à Londres !

Si vous souhaitez apprendre l’anglais, le meilleur endroit est sans aucun doute Londres même, la capitale. Du langage de la reine jusqu’aux dialectes que vous avez dû entendre à la télévision ou dans des films, la capitale est remplie d’écoles de langue de qualité.

Que vous débutiez ou soyez expérimenté de la langue anglaise et souhaitiez améliorer votre grammaire, l’anglais peut être utilisé pour travailler, étudier, voyager ou simplement engager la conversation avec de nouveaux amis que vous rencontrerez dans vos cours. Ce que vous avez simplement à faire : Sélectionner l’école ayant les cours les plus appropriés à votre niveau. Nous espérons que les informations suivantes vous aideront à faire votre choix.

Quels cours sont les plus adaptés à mon niveau ?

Les cours varient d’une personne à une autre. Libre à vous de choisir les cours qui vous intéressent, cependant, nous vous conseillons d’étudier des cours d’anglais généraux. Ces cours vous aideront à développer votre compréhension, votre écriture et votre expression orale. Ces cours sont idéaux en tant que « base » pour commencer en douceur, ils vous permettront d’être à l’aise et de gagner confiance pour progresser. Une fois que vous aurez effectué ses cours, vous pouvez continuer à étudier de l’anglais général ou vous pouvez vous spécialiser dans un anglais business par exemple.

De plus, vous avez le choix entre des cours en groupe ou individuels. Si votre temps et votre budget le permettent, nous vous conseillons de mixer les deux. Cela vous permettra de bénéficier de cours plus approfondis car personnalisés, de vous focaliser sur votre apprentissage mais aussi de découvrir le travail en groupe et rencontrer de nouvelles personnes.

Pour ceux qui restent peu de temps et veulent un résultat immédiat, beaucoup d’écoles offrent des formules « intensive » ou « super intensive ». Elles sont chères, cependant c’est un bon moyen de progresser très rapidement en un lapse de temps réduit. Merci de garder en mémoire que l’apprentissage d’une langue nécessite pratique et du temps avant d’atteindre un très bon niveau, si vous souhaitez en anglais, nous vous conseillons de choisir des cours plus longs, moins intensifs.

Quelle école choisir? Comment être sur de la qualité de l'école?

En tant que membre de English UK, ayant participé au processus d’inspection pour l’accréditation UK et étant reconnu par le British Counil, nous travaillons seulement avec des écoles de langue qui sont également des membres d’English UK et reconnues par le British Council. Cette accrédidation est vue par beaucoup comme un gage de la qualité des classes proprosées par l’école et signifie que vous pouvez avoir confiance dans ces classes.

Maintenant que vous savez que les écoles listées sont accréditées, d’autres facteurs à considérer sont le prix et l’équipement. Si toutes les écoles sont accréditées, elles ont cependant des prix différents et visent différents marchés. Certaines sont plus chères parce qu’elles offrent des éauipements de haute technologie comme des tableaux interactifs, des grandes salles de cours, une cantine et des salles avec des ordinateurs en libre service. D’autres sont plus abordables avec un bon niveau d’enseignement mais des équipements peut être plus ordinaires ou datés.

Quel est mon niveau d'anglais?

Lorsque vous arriverez à l’école, vous passerez généralement un test d’anglais pour établir votre niveau. Vous serez alors placé dans une classe avec d’autres élèves de votre niveau. Cela devrait vous donner toutes vos chances pour comprendre ce que l’on vous enseigne, participer en classe et communiquer qvec vos camarades.

Si vous trouvez que le niveau est trop simple ou compliqué, l’école vous aidera bien sûr à changer de classe.

En général, les écoles suivent cette structure de niveau pour les classes:

Débutant – Aucune connaissance de la langue
Elementaire – Connaissance basique de la langue
Intermédiaire – Bonne connaissance de la langue
Avancé – Haut niveau de langue

Quel équipement dois-je apporter en cours?

Même si les professeurs distribuent des livres ou postent les leçons sur Internet, vous voudrez prendre vos propres notes. Nous vous recommendons donc de prendre un cahier et stylo. Quelques étudiants trouvent utile d’apporter un dictionnaire (papier ou électronique) et un ordinateur ou iPad.

Est-ce que les cours sont aussi pour les vrais débutants ?

Oui! La plupart des écoles sont ravies d’aider les vrais débutants et ont des cours et professeurs spécifiques pour vous aider. Précisez s’il vous plait avant de réserver l’école si vous souhaitez avoir un accompagnement particulier ou un arrangement pour que l’on vous parle dans votre langue natale.

Est-ce que l'école me donnera un certificat ou diplôme?

La plupart des écoles distribuent un certificat de présence qui indiquera le cours que vous avez suivi et le niveau obtenu. Cela varie selon les écoles et n’est pas un certificat officiel.

Si vous souhaitez recevoir un document officiel vous devriez vous inscrire dans une classe dont le but est de préparer un examen spécifique, comme le IELTS, TOEFL ou Cambridge English.

Est-ce que j'ai besoin d'un visa pour venir étudier au RU?

Les étudiants hors de la Communauté économique européenne ou de la Suisse doivent faire la demande d’un visa pour travailler ou étudier au RU.

Plusieurs types de visas sont disponibles, certains seront plus adaptés que d’autres selon la durée de votre séjour et votre niveau d’anglais. Plus d’informations sur les visas étudiants sont disponibles ici.

Quel est l'âge minimum requis?

Bien qu’un certain nombre d’écoles proposent des cours d’été pour les moins de 16 ans, l’âge minimum pour suivre un cours adulte est de 16 ans. En moyenne, les étudiants ont la vingtaine, cependant nous avons déjà aidé les étudiants plus âgés à trouver un logement et une classe sur Londres. Il y a une solution pour tout le monde.

Comment y-a-t'il d'étudiants par classe?

Bien que cela varie selon les écoles, en général, les classes se limitent à 10 ou 12 étudiants, avec une moyenne autour de 8-9 étudiants.

Est-ce que j'ai droit à des vacances?

La plupart des écoles vous permettent de prendre des vacances pendant les cours, avec un nombre de jours de vacances qui varie selon la durée de votre classe (un longue période d’étude bénéficiera de plus de vacances généralement). Beaucoup d’écoles demandent deux semaines de préavis, même si chaque école est différente. Nous vous conseillons de vous renseigner à votre arrivée. Les vacances peuvent être l’opportunité d’explorer le reste du RU et de l’Europe.

Que disent-ils?

Latest From the BLOG

27th Jan, 2017

Typical pubs tour in London

Londres, avec plus de 7000 pubs au total dans le centre de la ville, il serait…

Read More
24th Jun, 2016

Word of the day, Exasperated!

Exasperated  Definition: irritate intensely; infuriate. Example: “this futile process exasperates prison officers” Synonyms: infuriate, incense, anger, annoy, irritate, madden,…

Read More
23rd Jun, 2016

Word of the day, Tantalise!

Tantalise Definition: torment or tease (someone) with the sight or promise of something that is unobtainable. Example: “such…

Read More
22nd Jun, 2016

Scintillate, word of the day!

Scintillate Definition: emit flashes of light; sparkle. Example: “the sleek boat seemed to scintillate with a dark blue…

Read More
21st Jun, 2016

Word of the day, Sulk!

Sulk Definition: be silent, morose, and bad-tempered out of annoyance or disappointment. Example: “he was sulking over…

Read More
20th Jun, 2016

Word of the day, Drench!

Drench Definition: wet thoroughly; soak. Example: “I fell in the stream and was drenched” Synonyms: soak, saturate, wet…

Read More
17th Jun, 2016

Word of the day, Initial!

Initial Definition: 1. Existing or occurring at the beginning. 2. The first letter of a name…

Read More
14th Jun, 2016

Word of the day, Analysis!

Analysis Definition: detailed examination of the elements or structure of something. Example: “statistical analysis” Synonyms: examination, investigation, inspection, survey,…

Read More
10th Jun, 2016

Word of the day, Invigilate!

Invigilate Definition: supervise candidates during an examination. Example: “during exam week, all she had to do was invigilate”…

Read More

FAQs for Studying English in London

England is considered the home of the English language and with more international students than any other city in the world, London is a fantastic place to study. London is a great city to be a student in, as there is always something happening and one can never be bored.

If you are thinking of studying English, then where better to do it than in the capital of England, London. From the Queen’s English to the local dialects you might have heard on TV or in the movies, the capital’s accredited language schools have it covered.

Whether you are a complete beginner or just looking to perfect your grammar, English can be used for work, study, travel or simply making conversation with the new friends you’ll meet on your course. All you have to do now is select the right school and the best course for you. We hope the following information will help you make that choice.

Which course is best for me?

This of course varies from person to person and is completely up to you. However. For a broad general understanding of the language we recommend studying a general English course. General English courses are designed to develop your reading, writing, speaking and listening abilities. These courses are ideal as either a ‘base’ course for a few weeks while you gain confidence in London, speaking English with the locals and at your school. After you have completed this course you can then either continue on the general English course of move on to specialise to either a qualification or a practical (e.g. business) course.

In addition to this you have the choice of either group classes or private one on one lessons. If time and budget permits we would recommend studying in a mixture of both options. This will allow you to have the benefit of meeting and studying with new people of a similar level in the group class (making friends is one of the best and most fun ways to learn any language) with the one on one lessons supplementing your group classes, allowing you to focus on the areas of English you wish to improve.

For those short of time or who want quick results, most schools offer ‘intensive’ or ‘super intensive’ course options. Although expensive, this can be a good way to study a lot in a short space of time. Please bear in mind that learning a language takes practice and time therefore for best results we would recommend a longer, less intensive course at a school with a busy social program.

Which school should I choose? How can I be sure of the quality?

As a member of English UK and having participated in the Accreditation UK inspection process and been recognised by the British Council, we only work with language schools who are also English UK members and are accredited by the British Council. This accreditation is widely seen by many as an indication of the quality of the lessons offered by the school and means you can have confidence in booking a course with the school.

Now you know the schools listed are accredited, the next considerations are the price and the facilities. Although all of schools listed are accredited, the all have different prices and target different sections of the market. Some are more expensive offering high tech facilities such as interactive white boards, large classrooms, student canteens and free computer rooms. Others offer good value budget packages where the teaching is of a good standard but the facilities are maybe a little more cramped, basic or dated.

What is my English level?

When you first arrive your school you will usually take part in an English test to establish your language ability. From here you will be placed in a class with other students of a similar ability. This will hopefully ensure you are able to have a good understanding of what is being taught, be able to participate in class and communicate with your classmates.

If you find your class too easy or too difficult, the school staff will of course be able to help you to move class.

In general, most schools follow the following level structure for their classes:

  • Beginner – No previous knowledge of the language
  • Elementary – A basic understanding of the language
  • Intermediate – Can cope on a day-to-day basis
  • Advanced – High level of proficiency

What equipment should I bring to lessons?

Even if teachers distribute handouts or post lesson notes online, you will want to take your own notes. Therefore we recommend you take a note pad and pen. Some students find it useful to bring a dictionary (either traditional or electric) and/or iPad/tablet.

Are there courses for complete beginners?

Yes! Most schools are happy to help complete beginners and have special courses and teachers who can assist you. Please make it clear when booking as the school may want to make special provision or arrangements to speak to you in your own language before you book.

Will the School give me a qualification or certificate?

Most schools will issue you with a certificate of attendance which will state the course you have studied and the level you obtained. This varies from school to school and is not an official qualification.

If you would like an official qualification you should enrol on a course that studies exam preparation towards a specific qualification such as IELTS, TOEFL or Cambridge English.

Do I need a visa to study English in the UK?

Students from outside of the European Economic Area or Switzerland do require a visa to work or student in the UK.

Different types of visas are available, and some will be more suitable than others, depending on how long you want to study and your language level. Further information on student visas can be found here.

What is the minimum age?

Although a number of schools offer summer courses of under 16’s, the minimum age to join an adult course is 16 years old. On average most students are in their 20’s, however we have helped students in their 80’s find accommodation and a course in London before. There really is something for everyone.

How many students are in the classes?

This varies from school to school. In general most schools limit their class size to 10 or 12 students with the average class size being around 8 or 9 students.

Can I take holidays?

Most schools allow you to take holidays during your course, with the amount of holiday time usually dependent on the length of your course (Longer courses having more holiday time). Many schools ask for a 2 week notice period, although as each school differs slightly, we advise clarifying the rules with your school upon arrival. Holiday time can offer you a great opportunity to explore the rest of the UK and Europe.

What they say...

Latest From the BLOG

27th Jan, 2017

Typical pubs tour in London

London, with more than 7000 pubs in total in the center of the city, it would…

Read More
9th Aug, 2016

Pontificate, word of the day!

Pontificate: Definition: express one’s opinions in a pompous and dogmatic way. Example: “he was pontificating about art and…

Read More
8th Aug, 2016

Nouns – How to make Singular into Plural

A noun is either an object, a person, a place or an idea. When learning a…

Read More
1st Aug, 2016

Passive voice

Passive voice is commonly used in both spoken and written English. Its use really depends upon…

Read More
25th Jul, 2016

Making Polite Requests

Making Polite Requests   “Life is short, but there is always time enough for courtesy.” ― Ralph Waldo…

Read More
18th Jul, 2016

Predicting

Not everything in life is certain, therefore when we want to express that something may or…

Read More
24th Jun, 2016

Word of the day, Exasperated!

Exasperated  Definition: irritate intensely; infuriate. Example: “this futile process exasperates prison officers” Synonyms: infuriate, incense, anger, annoy, irritate, madden,…

Read More
23rd Jun, 2016

Word of the day, Tantalise!

Tantalise Definition: torment or tease (someone) with the sight or promise of something that is unobtainable. Example: “such…

Read More
22nd Jun, 2016

Scintillate, word of the day!

Scintillate Definition: emit flashes of light; sparkle. Example: “the sleek boat seemed to scintillate with a dark blue…

Read More